Washington D.C.

Luckily for me, the last part of the program culminated in Washington, D.C. We had a parents weekend so that everyone could see their families. I was so grateful to sleep in my own bed! That week we met with representatives from the World Bank, Congress, and NGOs to discuss international development. The whole year we discussed the relationship between the US and the rest of the world regarding these global issues. The meetings tied together the understandings and ideas we learned while working abroad and demonstrated what we can do to promote change in the US. Before graduation, we spent 2 weeks in cabins in Virginia reflecting on our experiences from the year and how we want to continue our growth in college and into our adult lives. For graduation we each wrote a speech to share with our families the lessons and ideas we took away from the year. Saying goodbye to my small family after 6 months of shared experiences was definitely difficult. I am excited to pursue my newfound passions in college next year and I hope to keep travelling throughout my adulthood. This year has been a major influence on my life and I know that it will probably be one of the most incredible opportunities that I will never forget!

 

 

Leave a Reply

